Kaufman Music Center Email Updates

What Makes It Great? Dvořák's
"American Quartet"

Monday, November 19, 2018  |  7:30pm


Subscribe today & save 20%!

Listen to iconic masterpieces with new ears as NPR & PBS music commentator, conductor, composer, author and pianist Rob Kapilow shows you what you've been missing!

Featuring the Aeolus Quartet
Antonín Dvořák came to America in 1892 to head the newly-formed American Conservatory of Music, ushering in an extraordinarily fruitful period of creativity that included the triumphant New World Symphony and his Cello Concerto in B minor. In the idyllic surroundings of a small Iowa town, he wrote what would become one of chamber music’s most popular pieces in just 16 days: The String Quartet in F major, nicknamed the "American Quartet." Fascinated with African-American and Native-American music, Dvořák absorbed the spirit of America’s folk melodies into his work and advocated for an American composition school based on the country’s own indigenous music. Rob Kapilow and the Aeolus Quartet explore the difference between influence and imitation as they investigate what makes the American Quartet “American.”

Ticket Information

5-Concert Subscription: $200
Single Tickets: $48
Buy 5-Concert Subscription Buy Single Tickets

Merkin Concert Hall

Tel: 212 501 3330

  • Follow Us
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • instagram
  • youtube
New York's Creative Home for Listeners, Learners and Performers

KAUFMAN MUSIC CENTER • 129 West 67th Street • New York, NY 10023 • (212) 501-3330 • Privacy Policy
Kaufman Music Center is a nonprofit 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization. Number 13-1991118.
© 2018 Kaufman Music Center