Kaufman Music Center

Face the Music

Description: Visit Us On FacebookDescription: Visit Us On Twitter

See Face the Music in The New Yorker!

Click here to listen to Face the Music perform Steve Reich's Triple Quartet with JACK Quartet at The Greene Space at WNYC/WQXR.

Face the Music is the only teen ensemble in the U.S. dedicated to the creation and performance of music by living composers. In residence at Kaufman Music Center, Face the Music has taken its place as a full-fledged player in New York City’s vibrant contemporary classical scene, rapidly becoming what Allan Kozinn of the New York Times has called “a force in the New York new-music world.”

Highlights of the 2013-14 season include a performance with Kronos Quartet at Carnegie Hall, a four-concert series at the Queens Museum of Art and participation in the 2014 New York Philharmonic Biennial as well as collaborations with the avant-garde composer-performer collective thingNY, chamber-punk-jazz ensemble Gutbucket and the Cerddorion Vocal Ensemble. In honor of Black History Month, they will perform Haitian-American violinist and composer Daniel Bernard Roumain’s immersive, multi-media piece Human Songs and Stories at Bronx Museum of the Arts.

Support Face the Music! Call 212 501 3350 or donate online.

Advanced musicians between the ages of 10 and 18 are eligible to audition for Face the Music and Kronos at Kaufman. For more information, please call 212 501 3390212 501 3390 or email jundercofler@kaufman-center.org.

This fall, Face the Music will team up with Kronos Quartet!
Find out more about the new Kronos at Kaufman program.

Read a New York Times feature on Face the Music.
Read a Daily News feature on Face the Music.
Listen to an story on Face the Music on NPR's "All Things Considered."
Go to a list of composer competitions.

 

Face the Music – Series Events

Face the Music at PS142

Fri, Apr 25 at 7:30pm

Face the Music at Queens College

Sun, Apr 27 at 4:00pm

Face the Music at St. Barnabas Church

Sun, May 04 at 3:30pm

Face the Music at Firehouse Space

Thu, May 08 at 7:00pm

Face the Music at National Opera Center

Sun, May 11 at 11:00pm

Face the Music at Queens New Music Festival

Fri, May 16 at 7:00pm

Face the Music at Montville High School Auditorium

Sun, May 18 at 4:00pm

Face the Music at Cary Hall

Thu, May 22 at 7:30pm

Face the Music at St. Ann and the Holy Trinity

Sat, May 31 at 8:00pm

Face the Music at the New York Philharmonic Biennial

Sun, Jun 01 at 7:00pm

Face the Music at The Firehouse Space

Fri, Jun 13 at 7:00pm

Face the Music at Make Music New York

Sat, Jun 21 at 1:00pm

Face the Music at Drom

Mon, Nov 11 at 7:00pm

Face the Music at WFMU

Mon, Nov 25 at 8:00pm

Face the Music at Roulette

Mon, Dec 02 at 7:30pm

Face the Music at Queens Museum

Sun, Dec 08 at 2:00pm

Face the Music at Barbes

Thu, Dec 19 at 7:00pm

Face the Music at Queens Museum

Sun, Jan 12 at 2:00pm

Face the Music at Lincoln Center’s David Rubenstein Atrium

Thu, Jan 16 at 7:30pm

Face the Music at Barbes

Thu, Jan 23 at 7:00pm

Face the Music at The Greene Space

Fri, Jan 31 at 7:00pm

Face the Music at Bronx Museum of the Arts

Fri, Feb 07 at 7:00pm

Face the Music at Queens Museum

Sun, Feb 09 at 2:00pm

Face the Music at Barbes

Thu, Feb 27 at 7:00pm

Face the Music at St Mark’s Church in the Bowery

Sun, Mar 02 at 5:00pm

Face the Music at Queens Museum

Sun, Mar 09 at 2:00pm

Face the Music at Special Music School High School

Mon, Mar 17 at 8:00pm

Face the Music at The Players Theatre

Tue, Mar 18 at 8:00pm

Face the Music with Kronos Quartet at Carnegie Hall

Fri, Mar 28 at 8:00pm

Face the Music at Union City Music Project

Sun, Mar 30 at 4:00pm

Face the Music at Greenwich House

Sat, Apr 05 at 8:00pm

Merkin Concert Hall

212 501 3330
Goodman House
129 W. 67th Street
New York, NY 10023
boxoffice@kaufmanmusiccenter.org
GOOGLE MAP
VIEW HOURS

New York's Creative Home for Listeners, Learners and Performers