alertClick here for KMC community updates related to COVID-19.

Support Us!

2020-21 Season

In the 2020-2021 season Luna Composition Lab has expanded to include 6 Fellows who will be mentored by composers Valerie Coleman, Kristin Kuster, Tamar Muskal, Ellen Reid, Gity Razaz, and Alex Temple

Throughout the season Fellows will participate in virtual masterclasses with flutist and composer Valerie Coleman, composer, conductor, and educator Tania León, composer inti figgis-vizueta, and the International Contemporary Ensemble, among others. 

The 2020–2021 season will feature a weeklong festival in April, 2021, where Fellows will participate in masterclasses with prominent composers, musicians, and leaders in the arts. The Fellows will premiere their new works, composed throughout their fellowship, at Merkin Hall on April 28, 2021.

2019-20 Season

During the 2019–2020 season, Luna Composition Lab Fellows were mentored by composers Reena Esmail, Kristin Kuster, Tamar Muskal, Ellen Reid and Gity Razaz.  

The 2019–2020 season featured an online festival held in April, 2020. Fellows participated in masterclasses with composers Sarah Hennies, Caroline Shaw, and Nathalie Joachim; violinist Jennifer Koh; and harpist Ashley Jackson; and experienced workshops with leaders in the arts from G. Schirmer, Inc., Calliope PR, The Metropolitan Opera, The Kennedy Center, National Sawdust, OneBeat and more. Musicians from the Los Angeles Chamber Orchestra (LACO) recorded new works by the 2019-2020 Fellows in Fall 2020.


Above left: 2019-20 Fellows, Mentors, and Staff during the online festival  
Above right: Presentation by harpist Ashley Jackson during the online festival

Luna Composition Lab partnered with the Los Angeles Chamber Orchestra to launch Luna Lab with LACO in the 2019-20 season, which provided mentorship and performance opportunities to young female-identifying, non-binary, and gender nonconforming composers from Southern California throughout Spring 2020. As part of this partnership, Luna Composition Lab Fellows and LACO participants attended interactive panel discussions on film composition—with Jeff Beal and Kathryn Bostic—and leadership in the arts—with Jean Davidson, Meghan Martineau, Derrick Spiva Jr., and Jenny Wong. More details.