Support Us!

Mimesis Ensemble Presents "Change"

Saturday | May 4 2013 | 7:30 pm

Advance Tickets $10 Buy Tickets
Full Price $20 Buy Tickets
Student $5 Buy Tickets

The Mimesis Ensemble presents “Change,” a vibrant program exploring chamber music deeply connected to the dynamic emotional and social world of the 21st century.   Each composition explores the changes happening which fuse ideas and sounds from traditionally separate genres and peoples, celebrating the interconnectedness of the world we live in today. 

The program opens with David T. Little's sweet light crude, described by the composer as a 'love song to oil,' a piece composed for Newspeak, followed by Caleb Burhans’ Requiem for a General Motors in Janesville, WI.  This musical obituary for a GM plant, which was once the heart of a thriving industrial city, focuses on the emotional effects of this loss on the people who live there.  The first half closes with Mohammed Fairouz's Four Critical Models, a piece composed of two provocative catchwords (by Milton Babbitt and Evelyn Baring in Modern Egypt), each followed by an intervention (by Theodore Adorno and Edward Said).  These quotes have served as a point of departure for each of the movements.

The second half of the concert opens with Patrick Burke’s Awake, a work composed for the NOW Ensemble which fuses the cyclic process in Javanese gamelan with the harmonies of western classical and popular music.  The composer says “I see this piece as a journey from the anxieties of daily life to an awareness of the larger world and all of the possibilities within it.”  The program closes with Judd Greenstein’s Change, composed for the NOW Ensemble, a piece which takes a Gandhi quote as its point of departure: “Be the change you want to see in the world.”  This piece explores the idea that change begins from within.

Artists / Instruments

Jamie Jordan, soprano; Rayoung Ahn, Alex Shiozaki, violin; Yves Dharamraj, cello; Lorenzo Sandi, double bass; Emi Ferguson, flute; Carlos Cordeiro, clarinet; Michael Couper, saxophone; Maarten Stragier, electric guitar; Katie Reimer, piano; Samuel Budish, percussion; Ian Sullivan, drum set

Go to this Series' Home Page