Charles Yang

Soloist & Chamber Musician
2023 Grammy Winner

A 2023 Grammy winner and 2021-22 Kaufman Music Center Artist-in-Residence, violinist Charles Yang is the recipient of the 2018 Leonard Bernstein Award. Described by the Boston Globe as one who “plays classical violin with the charisma of a rock star,” he has performed as a soloist with orchestras and in concert in the United States, Europe, Brazil, Russia, China and Taiwan, and is the recipient of numerous awards and honors. In 2005, the Mayor of Austin presented Mr. Yang with his own "Charles Yang Day." In 2016 Mr. Yang joined the crossover string-band, a 2023 Grammy winner, Time for Three. He recently made his solo debut with Marin Alsop and The Chicago Symphony at The Ravinia Festival.

Not only confined to classical violin, Mr. Yang's improvisational crossover abilities as a violinist, electric violinist, and vocalist have led him to featured performances with a variety of artists in such festivals as The Aspen Music Festival, The Schleswig- Holstein Music Festival, The Ravinia Festival, The Crested Butte Music Festival, The Cayman Arts Festival, The YouTube Music Awards, The Moab Music Festival, TED, Caramoor, The EG Conference, Google Zeitgeist, Interlochen, and onstage at venues such as Carnegie Hall, Alice Tully Hall, Lincoln Center’s Metropolitan Opera House, David H. Koch Theater, Dizzy’s and David Rubinstein Atrium; The Long Center, Rudolfinum, The Royal Danish Theatre, Le Poisson Rouge, Highline Ballroom, Ars Nova, The Metropolitan Museum of Art, and The Forbidden City in Beijing among many others. He has performed in the presence of two former U.S. Presidents and the Queen of Denmark and has shared the stage in collaborations with artists including Peter Dugan, CDZA, Steve Miller, Jesse Colin Young, Jake Shimabukuro, Ray Benson, Michael Gordon, Marcelo Gomes, Savion Glover, Twyla Tharp, Misty Copeland and Jon Batiste.

SummerFest home page

Get News from Us

Sign Up