Kaufman Music Center & Concert Artists Guild co-present

Galvin Cello Quartet

Friday | October 20 2023 | 7:30 pm


ANTONIO VIVALDI  –  “Summer” from Four Seasons
LUIGI FORINO  –  Preghiere (“Prayer”) 
RICHARD WAGNER  –  Feierliches Stück 
ZHOU TIAN, Commissioned Piece 
ASTOR PIAZZOLLA  –  La Muerte del Angel  
GEORGE GERSHWIN  –  Three Preludes 
GABRIELA LENA FRANK  –  Leyendas: An Andean Walkabout 
DAVID POPPER  –  Elfentanz  

The winners of the 2021 Fischoff Competition and the 2022 Concert Artists Guild Competition showcase the versatility of the cello quartet with music of different periods and contrasting styles and characters. From Vivaldi to Piazolla, the first half of the program journeys through works written for chamber orchestras, operas and virtuosic showpieces, redesigned for the cello quartet. As a unique ensemble that does not have the standardized repertoire of string quartets, the ensemble presents a rare opportunity to create and commission new works by composers of varying backgrounds, in this case Zhou Tian. The Andean Walkabout by Gabriela Lena Frank is the crux of the second half. Leyendas, with its American, Chinese and South American influences, encompasses many of the backgrounds and ideals of the quartet’s members.

Go to this Series' Home Page

Get News from Us

Sign Up