Israeli Chamber Project Presents

Israeli Chamber Project

Wednesday | November 9 2022 | 7:30 pm


CAMILLE SAINT-SAËNS – Fantaisie for Harp and Violin, Op. 124
IGOR STRAVINSKY – Suite from A Soldier’s Tale 
MAURICE RAVEL – Introduction and Allegro
ARNOLD SCHOENBERG – Chamber Symphony No. 1, Op. 9 (arranged by Anton Webern)
MAURICE RAVEL – Le tombeau de Couperin (Couperin's Tomb) (arranged by Yuval Shapiro. ICP commission)

Marina Piccinini, flute; Tibi Cziger, clarinet; Sivan Magen, harp; Assaff Weisman, piano; Daniel Bard, violin; Itamar Zorman, violin; Guy Ben-Ziony, viola; Michal Korman, cello

One of the casualties of the Covid postponements is what would have been this ensemble’s timely celebration of the death anniversaries of both Stravinsky (50th) and Saint-Saëns (100th) in 2021. But timely or not, they are here to celebrate these two giants who in many ways represented the polar extremes on the musical spectrum, with Saint-Saëns clutching on to lush 19th century Romanticism just as Stravinsky led the modernist avant-garde. Their paths famously converged at the riotous 1913 premiere of Stravinsky's Rite of Spring, with Saint-Saëns walking out in protest.  Do not miss this "band of world-class soloists…in which egos dissolve and players think, breathe, and play as one” (Time Out New York) in its celebration and exploration of this dynamic musical era.

View our current COVID-19 health and safety protocols.

Get News from Us

Sign Up