alertClick here to view Kaufman Music Center's COVID-19 health and safety protocols.

Support Us!

Quartet 131 presents: Night.. not in four movements

Thursday | October 3 2019 | 7:30 pm


Two works for string quartet, both with the unusual structure of seven attacca movements, inspired this program. The burnished richness of sound in Schubert’s single movement ‘Quartettsatz’ greets the audience, its densely woven melodies accessible and welcoming. Bloch’s evocative ‘Night’ then introduces listeners to an entirely new sound color palette while acting as precursor to Dutilleux’s crystalline, otherworldly textures and sound pictures in ‘Ainsi La Nuit’. Beethoven’s towering Opus 131 stands alone after intermission.


Lilit Gampel and Laura Jean Goldberg, violins
Andy Lin, viola
Robert La Rue, cello


FRANZ SCHUBERT  -  Quartettsatz D703, C minor (1820)

ERNEST BLOCH  -  Night (1923)

HENRI DUTILLEUX  -  “Ainsi la Nuit” (1976)

LUDWIG VAN BEETHOVEN  -  Opus 131, C# minor (1826)