New York Piano Society presents

NYPS: Rachmaninov Sesquicentennial Festival

Sunday | January 22 2023 | 2 pm


Discounted student, military, and senior tickets are available by phone or in person. Call the box office at 212 501 3330.

A celebration featuring John-Henry Crawford and Hana Mundiya.

New York Piano Society presents the epic,  monumentally challenging, and deeply beloved Rachmaninov Cello sonata featuring rising star and Billboard chart-topping cellist John-Henry Crawford, joined by our outstanding member pianists. The concert will begin with Rachmaninov’s Preludes, followed by a departure from the composer back to the genesis of Bach, journeying onwards through Brahms, Schumann, Ravel, and Debussy. We reunite with Sergei Vasilyevich in his First Trio élégiaque written when he was only 18, joined by long time NYPS collaborator and international competition winner, violinist Hana Mundiya. Come celebrate Rachmaninov’s birthday with us and marvel at the talented members of New York Piano Society in an afternoon that promises to be unforgettable. 

RACHMANINOV - Prelude Op. 32, No. 5 & 12
BACH - Partita #2 BMV 826, Sarabande, Rondo, Capriccio
BRAHMS - Intermezzo Op. 118, No. 2
SCHUMANN - Piano Sonata No. 2, Movt. 1
RAVEL - Mirroirs: Une barque sur l’ocean
DEBUSSY - Gradus ad Parnassum
DEBUSSY - L’isle joyeuse
RACHMANINOV - Trio Elegiaque No. 1
RACHMANINOV - Sonata for Piano and Cello

Christina Kim, Carl Di Casoli, Sabrina Chen, Arabella Zito, Andrew Throdahl, Celia Zhang, David Caldine, Yiran Wang, Arpan Doshi, piano 
Hana Mundiya, violin
John-Henry Crawford, cello

View our COVID-19 health and safety protocols.

Get News from Us

Sign Up