Robert Sirota: The String Quartets

Thursday | April 11 2024 | 7:30 pm


Triptych for string quartet (2002)
American Pilgrimage for string quartet (2016)
Wave Upon Wave for string quartet (2017)
Contrapassos for soprano and string quartet (2019)
       with text by Stevan Cavalier

The American String Quartet, Telegraph Quartet and soprano Abigail Fischer perform Robert Sirota's complete works for string quartet thus far, heard together in one evening for the first time. Sirota says, "Each of these works is in essence a long journal entry reflecting a response to our times."

Over five decades, Sirota has developed a distinctive voice, clearly discernible in all of his work. “Sirota’s musical language is personal and undogmatic, in the sense that instead of aligning himself with any of the competing contemporary styles, he follows his own internal musical compass," (Allan Kozinn, Portland Press Herald).

Get News from Us

Sign Up