alertClick here to view Kaufman Music Center's COVID-19 health and safety protocols.

Support Us!
Orchestra of St. Luke’s presents

Classical Matinees: Brahms & Price

Tuesday | January 18 2022 | 11 am


$10 student tickets are available. Call the box office at 212 501 3330 or purchase at the window.

OSL’s Chamber Music Series season opens with a celebration of the expressive depth of chamber music for strings. In order to separate himself from the ever-present shadow of Beethoven, a young Brahms decided to take a compositional risk with his Sextet No. 1, expanding the string quartet to include an additional cello and viola. Modeled after her wildly successful First Symphony, Florence Price’s String Quartet No. 2 shines with romantic chromaticism and Price’s expert integration of African American Folk vernacular. Her powerful use of the quartet medium establishes her as one of the compositional greats of the 20th century.


Johannes Brahms - String Sextet No. 1
Florence Price - String Quartet No. 2

View our current COVID-19 health and safety protocols.

Go to this Series' Home Page