Musicians For Harmony: 20th Anniversary “Concert for Peace”

Saturday | September 11 2021 | 7 pm


Watch the concert here:

Support Musicians for Harmony

Musicians For Harmony returns to Merkin Hall to celebrate its 20th Anniversary with an online and in-person concert. This special event aims to elevate musical voices in the service of peace, health and equity to commemorate the victims of 9/11, Covid-19 and social injustice. The concert will feature performances by the Juilliard String Quartet, Syrian clarinetist Kinan Azmeh with his CityBand, ETHEL and Musique Sans Frontières.

Founded in 2001 in the wake of the tragic events of 9/11, Musicians For Harmony has been a part of the New York cultural landscape for many years, anchored by its original mission of pursuing peace through music. They have been featured in The New York Times (“sounds rising above prejudice”), The New Yorker (“an annual testament to peace”), New York Daily News (“an international peace-keeping force”), Crain’s New York (“concerted effort for good will”), The Associated Press and Time Out New York, among others.

Watch the artists discuss this concert.


Juilliard String Quartet
BEETHOVEN  –  Cavatina from String Quartet No. 13 in B-flat, Op. 130

Kinan Azmeh & CityBand
Original compositions by Kinan Azmeh

arr. FARRIS  –  The National Anthem
LADYSMITH BLACK MAMBAZO, arr. Lawson  –  Vul’Inhiziyo                      
ULYSSES OWENS, JR.  –  Revival Crusade
JAMES “KIMO” WILLIAMS  –  A Veteran’s Lament

Musique Sans Frontières
Led by Patrick Derivaz, Satoshi Takeishi, guest artist
PAT IRWIN  –  Hymn for 9/11
JOHN KING  –  More Muddy Shoes

View our current COVID-19 health and safety protocols.

Get News from Us

Sign Up