Orchestra of St. Luke's Presents

Orchestra of St. Luke's: Beethoven & Clyne

Tuesday | October 18 2022 | 11 am


Orchestra of St. Luke’s with Jon Manasse, clarinet

ANNA CLYNE – Strange Loops for clarinet quintet (commissioned by Orchestra of St. Luke’s)
ANNA CLYNE – Woman Holding a Balance (commissioned by Orchestra of St. Luke’s)

Anna Clyne is one of the most accomplished compositional voices today. This program features two of Clyne’s recent works commissioned by OSL alongside one of Beethoven’s Septet in E-flat Major, one of his greatest chamber works. Clyne’s Clarinet Quintet is an exploration of musical loops, based on Douglas Hofstadter’s philosophical novel I am a Strange Loop; Woman Holding a Balance was written to accompany Jyll Bradley’s short film of the same name inspired by paintings by Vermeer. Both works premiered as part of OSL’s innovative Sounds & Stories virtual series. Written just before his First Symphony, Beethoven’s Septet is almost symphonic in its rich, varied texture created by the combination of strings and woodwinds.

$10 student tickets are available by phone or in person. Call the box office at 212 501 3330.

View our current COVID-19 health and safety protocols.

Go to this Series' Home Page

Get News from Us

Sign Up